stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

13/3 Sunday

Publicerad 2011-03-16 10:05:32 i Allmänt,

Last night, the electricity was out between 18-23. Appearantly, the surrounding neighbourhoods take turns in using electricity, and last night, it was someone elses turn to have it. It got pitch black and extremely hot, despite this, its still better to stay inside since the mosquitos are everywhere outside the house. Lucky I bought a tourch and mozzie repellent haha! As soon as Salome sees a mossie, she says 'ahhhh, malaria, baaaad, eeyyy, I can feel malaria, eeeyyy, bad, hospitali'. To be honest, my its not my favourite place being at home. Lucky I found this very good (but hot) internet cafe nearby.
'
Me and Fatuma went to Mwenge souvenir market later on today. A really nice place! It was, however so hot that I actually fainted right in the middle of the bargain on a piece of art. Haha! The guy ran away to get me water so how could I not end up buying the pic?? (exactly, I couldnt.) It is really nice though and I really wanted it!
Afterwards, we went to Mukumbisho...something where I had been told they have traditional live music every day, all day long. We turned up at abt 14 and it still hadnt started but they had some sort of village museum closeby where you could watch traditional housing from all over Tanzania. It was really nice to walk around in the park and unbeliavable to see the houses in which people used to live....and still live in according to Fatuma. Most of them were built in mud and plantain leafs, and some also had cow poo as stabelizing agent in the walls haha! Fatuma showed me what kind of house she grew up in. It had the same size as my childhood room...
'
The music festival never started so I accompanied Fatuma to the hospital to visit her friends dad who got really sick a few days ago. Apart from heart failure and diabetes, he also caught malaria. He didnt recognize Fatuma at all and was not contactable... Fatuma told me you are only allowed to make visits between 6-7am and between 4-4.30pm so that the patients get their rest. However, on a field just next to the hospital was some sorta meat-eating festival taking place. The sound level was equal the one at a night club, so I dont think they got any rest anyway... Also, the hospital doesnt provide food to their clients, so friends and family have to cook food at home and bring it. They arent really well planned like that. There is no infrastructure what so ever and the word 'organize' does not exist. Noone pays taxes on their salaries so there is no money for these public sorta things. Even the buses and bajajis are run privately. Anyone can just buy a bus, get a licence and decide what route they want to drive. The money they earn for the day is all theirs.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela