stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

14/3 Monday

Publicerad 2011-03-17 13:50:13 i Allmänt,

For the first time since I got here, I managed to take the Daladala to work myself 'proud'. Its actually not that difficult, although you carefully have to watch your belongings at all times and ignore people who are trying to speak to you or hold your hand while walking. A lot of people hold hands here while walking, even two males. Normal for them....weird for me...
I arrived before Anna today. The doctor tiold me they had run out of medicins and tests so Anna had gone to get some more. She came back abt 2 hrs later with only 17 tests and no medicine. 5 of them were positive.
'
As usually, I sat out most of the time today, speaking to Anna (with help from Rody). She told me that when medication has started, a HIV infected patient could expect to live for another 3 months only. I would have thought they would have much more time left, but Anna explain thit is because they can only afford the cheapest treatment. However she and the doctor told me abt a man (Loloando) in Arusha who is said to be able to cure HIV with traditional herb medicin. He boild some pices of wood together and let the people drink the water in which it boiled. When I aksed them weather they believed in it they just stared at me 'Ofcourse, he has cured people!'. Hmmm.....scientists, really??
This man lives in Arusha, abt 12 hrs north from here on a bus. People are lining up for months to see him and he chharge only 500 Tsh (abt 2sek) per person. However, bus companies and restaurants etc uses the fact that so many people wants to see him so going to Arusha is a lot more expensive than it used to be.
'
And, speaking of Arusha, Linda gave me the contact details to a swedsih couple who opened an orphanage there a while ago. It is called hopeforchildren. So I emailed them to see if I could come to visit them during my 6 days off and wwas told it would work!! Very exciting! Im also gonna see if I can see the line up for Loliandos magical medicin while Im there!
'
After work, I took the Daladala to Mlimani shoppning mall to meet up with two norweigan girls who I ran in to a few days ago (Silje and Maria). They have been here for 3 mths, working with handicapped children. Maria already caught malaria twice and typhoid once. We went to the....very....local cinemas. Like...developing country cinemas haha! It was just the three of us plus one more person. One hour commercial where they practically went through the beginning, middle and end of all other movies. The sound went up and down throughout the movie (noone had to worry to fall asleep). In the background, there is a constant fly fighting noise. However, I really appreciated the company and the American movie. Very good as a change!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela