stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

17/3 Thursday

Publicerad 2011-03-24 13:51:05 i Allmänt,

So...the plan today was to start collecting sponsors for the youth development project. I got informed yday that Stanely, the guy who worked on this project before me will be back 1t April. Company, yeah! I dont know exactly when he was here, but I think it was for abt 6 months ago. Since then, the group has achieved nothing. It seems a bit like they continue only because Stanely is coming back and they dont wanna dissapoint him by have done nothing. They have had half a year to follow up the companies at which they started. Half a year to provide them with a budget and a proposal (which were both already done at the time, they just had to give them to them, but failed).
;
So this morning, after Ahmed surprisingly showed up in time, we took the first daladala of many. 1.5 hrs in the direction towards the airport. First thing on our schedule was to visit the headquater of Pepsi to see how they responded to the half a year old funding request. We were told to come back tomw at 9 am.
Second, we went to TTB (Tanzania tea blendders) and got to talk to a very nice man. He asked why noone had turned up at their 3 months ago appointment. Me myself were wondering the same... He took the budget and proposal and told us to call back next week.  I think there is a chance they will provide the festival with tea and coffee, but no money. I cant see any reason to why a big company would NOT want to helt out with the HIV challenge. To set up 6 festivals (including everything) will cost abt 6000 sek and in return, the company will get free advertisment for half a year (since there will be 1 festival per month). Also, they would be associated with the decline in HIV which we are expected to see long term. However, they could still pay a whole lot of money for a sign hanging somewhere above the highway... hmmm, I hope that msg got through... Tomw, well return to Pepsi.
'
After todays mission, Ahmed took me to kariakoo market, a very hectic place, plus to his suburb to introduce me to his family and friends. Wherever I went, I had at least 3 kids running after me screaming Mzungu! And I KNOW, its just kids but I strongly dislike it. I dont point at all dark people in Europe screaming 'looooook, nigger!' If I did, I would probably get killed...
Richard, (the best dancer in the group according to me) lived very close to ahmed so we went to visit him afterwards. He lived in a very small room, fitting a bed and a couch, with no fan and with holes in the roof, which he rent for 15000Tsh per month (abt 60 sek). i really like Ahmed and Richard, they are both really nice.
Outside R's room were a kid playing with a branch onto which he had attached an aluminium slice as a wheel. He looked so satisfied playing around with it. Just as yday outside my house were three kiddos had connected a rope to small cartoon boxes and put bottle caps as wheels. As long as you get enough love and appreciateion, you dont need a mountain as high as Kilimanjaro made of expensive toys in different coulours, right? Something to teach the spoild kids back home?? ;)

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela