stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

19 March Saturday

Publicerad 2011-03-27 09:04:54 i Allmänt,

Yeah, Zanzi time! Was first planning to take the 10.30 ferry but got a msg from an English guy from CS that I could stay in his house, but he shouldnt reach Zanzi until later. So I decided to take the ferry at 14, although I reached st joseph cathedral already at noon. Had abt 10 guys running after me trying to sell me ferry tickets. Figured it would be better to wait for scott on the zanzi side, plus, there was no ferry at 14 anymore anyway. The ferry cost $10 for residents, and $40 for white people. Met a Swedish guy on the ferry as well so was nice to get some company and someone to talk to during the 2 hrs it took to cross the ocean. When we arrived to Zanzi, we had to go through immigration, which I had NO idea abt. Was even considering to leave my passport at home but decided last min it was safer to bring it. However, i did not bring myu yellow vaccination card. Why would I when travelling within the same country... So, I got stuck at immi. First, they wanted to give me a yellow fever shot, but I claimed I already had it, noone is gonna stick a needle in me in this country haha! I had to sign a paper that I already had yellow fever vaccination, then they let me in. Hmm, what if I lied.... Not that I did, but anyway...
~
Anyway, me and Matias, the swedish guy went to get some food. Wanted to order curry from the menu, but they told me they only served pizza. So, pizza we had. However, they didnt have even half of the ingredients which should have been on my pizza. And when the lady asked what I wanted to drink, I asked what they had. She got angry haha!
~
Lovisa and her 4 friends arrived with the next ferry. So incredibly nice to see a familiar face! Although, one girl in her company refused to pay 40 sek for a pizza and convinced the others to find another restaurant in the tourist paradise. hmm...
While sitting at the restaurat, waiting for Scott, I was watching the staff from the ferry dump all the gabbage in the ocean. Just next to it were kids swimming. I wonder how clean that water is. Might be better off not knowing. Bins does not exist in Tanzania.
~
Scotts ferry was in time. After been picking up two hitch hikers, a japaneese guy and a polish girl, we drove to Scotts place in Fukachani. And. OMG! I am still amazed! This place is certainly NOT a CS place, more something in style with a five star hotel with the ocean just outside the window. He built this house by him self after have been visiting Zzb as a tourist. He fell in love with the country, sold all his stuff in England and started a new life here.I guess I got the royalty lounge or something, cause I cant even describe it. Just have to show you pics instead.
~
Soon after arrival, we went to Kendwa rocks to an ongoing full moon party. I had my second pizza for the day. The first place only served pizza before 19, the second one only after 19. Have to admit it hurt my nutritionist heart haha! Kendwa beach was incredibly nice. We stayed until 3 am before driving back home in Scotts car which is falling apart piece by piece. It actually got everything possible stolen, including radio and the stick you rewind the window with haha. Nothing left to take!
~
Zzb is extreme poverty mixed with rich tourist. Beautiful, but def not the real Africa!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela