stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

22/3 Wednesday

Publicerad 2011-03-27 14:30:45 i Allmänt,

Last day on Zanzibar. Means my reality escape mini holiday is over. And what a last night as well!!! Went to bed at around 23, after been watching the intense lightning over the neighbour island. The storm was, as it looked like, moving on to the opposit direction. However, woke up at 1am after my mozzie net had blown away. First I thought it was kinda nice to get some wind coming in, but the wind very soon turned into a hurricane with the worst lighting strikes ive ever seen! it was like someone was turning on and off the light every half sec and the strikes were hitting horisontal over the sky. The rain, which started to come in over fukachani very soon flooded the garden and developed a river onto which my flip flops sailed away. Some of my clothes had blown away by mother wind and prob end up it nearby villages. I hope they will come yo use there...(and sorry diary, your upper right corner got hit as well). Scott had run up in the windmill to turn the power of. The blades of the windmill had got deformed so the energy production was going crazy. Jerry, the cat was terryfied, mjauing and hiding underneeth the couch. While we helped Rohny to shelter all his stuff on the top floor, one of the workers were building a mud wall outside to protect the houses to get flooded.
'
Afterwards, we just sat down in the the bed to watch the lightnings. And holy fuck! The storm was just above us at one momant and the noises was just terrible. For the first time in my life, thunder and lightning actually scared the shit out of me haha!
'
7 am, after almost no sleep at all we decided to make breakie. And finally, also Matt woke up haha! All my clothes were soaking wet, as was my hair still. So no need for a shower. After making sure the damages wasnt actually to big, the garden had seem to appreciate it due to the previous drought, we drove to Puja beach, which was closed due to low season. So, we went a bit further, dried my clothes in the sun and just rested. The tides were too low for swimming, which they are most of the time here on zzb.
'
Took the ferry back at 15.30, although it said depature time was 16. lucky I got there in time. So, end of mini holiday and 5 star hotels. Back to reality and bucket bath. I dont know what to love most! :)

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela