stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

24/3 Thursday

Publicerad 2011-03-30 10:29:06 i Allmänt,

Half of my time here in dar has already past. Although some hours have tended to last for ever, I must admit that March has been really quick so far. My little mouse pet scared the shit out of me again. He jumped from the floor onto the couch, in which he seems to live in a hole in the corner.
'
Went to the clinic to meet Ahmed. I called Pepsi and ME. Pepsi aksed me to call back next week, ME in a few weeks. Never thought it would be so damn difficult to get sponsors for a good purpose. TTB did not pcik up. As advised by Matt, I convinced Ahmed to visit Airtel, one of the new phone companies that are dying to get advertisment. They explain sponsorship was only to be applied for in May, but said we are welcome to email them our proposal. Ahmed told me he doesnt know how a computer works. I gotta teach him one day...
We went to Vodacoms office after been spending a few hours looking for it. The manager wasnt in but we left our proposal there and got his contact details.
'
Everywhere on the streets are people with polio. Its such a horrible sight and I really feel for these people. The disease makes their limbs (mostly legs and feet) to become twisted in a very strange angle. Usually kinda backwards, stopping the person from walking. Al they can do is to just sit on the street all day begging for money. I feel terrible every time I pass someone without handing them some coins. Its just....they are so many. I quickly run out of coins...
'
Went to Precision air to try to change my flight to depart from Arusha instead of dar. People here are so..hmmmm, NOT service minded at all.
"I need your booking number".
"Well, this is my booking number".
"No its not"
"Yes it is"
Phone is ringing. Private call. I am waiting 20 min for the lady to gossip with her friend.
"Well, it might be. But I cant change it. However, you can buy a new ticket for 500dollars"
God DAMN IT! Make me sit on that bus for another 14 hrs instead! Im white, not rich! Grrrrr!
(Keep in mind, Im not complaining, just informing abt my situation here and I know it sometimes comes out like complaints, but I just have an ironic way of writing).
'
Ahmed told me to come back to the clinic at night to watch the group practicing. While I got there, everybody was just sitting around and Ahmed said we could go home. So, for what reason did I spend these hours on the bus? So I could pay for the other peoples trip home? I guess so...
'
Scott gave me a bunch of multi video dvd's on Zzb and cross the roof! When I got home, Salome was actually watching one of them! This is happyness on high level! Not having to watch Tanzanian soap operas for at least this one evening!
Yeah!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela