stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

8/3 Tuesday

Publicerad 2011-03-11 15:48:14 i Allmänt,

Today,. I had a day of because of the international women's day. I tried to sleep in this morning but woke up already at 7am since the fans had stoped working. It happens pretty often and it gets extremely hot.
Fatuma came over at around 11.30 and we took a daladala to the city centre where I posted some post cards (hope they will make it the whole way). Afterwards, we went to Fatumas old job (Hotel kilimanjaro). She used to work in the restaurant for 100USD per month!!!! Full time. Its just insane. And that is a 5 star hotel. She told me she might try to start her own buissness again. Most people seem to have their own buissness here, just selling crap things along the roads who noone needs. Also, they are all trying to sell the same things.
Before Fatuma got pregnant, she told me she used to have her own buissness selling chickens. Abt 3 times per month, she would go to Dadoma (the capital) and buy chickens really cheap there and then sell them in dar es with a 10% profit. I think a bus to Dadoma would take abt 15 hrs so when she got pregnant she couldnt continue.
'
After the city, we went to a friend of her's and I was sitting there for 2 hrs listening to swahili, understanding nothing. Later, I was told that her friends maid wanted to quit and Fatuma had to try to convince her to stay. I think it worked...
'
Back home, I figured Tapida had gone trough my bags. I know she has done it before but this time it was really obvious since things that had been weel packed in my bag were all spread across the room. I dont think she had taken anything but it still made me very dissapointed. Luckily I carry all my values with me in my napsack and dont really have anything of value back home.
'
Well, tomw I got work on. Feeling a bit down since its terrible not to understand anyone and knowing that I hardly can trust anyone. It makes you feel pretty lonely. I hope Salome will be back tomw so she can keep an eye on Tapida for me...
Now, its close to bed time....so Lala salama!
'
(Oh, I just got to mention, I bought a mirror today so for the first time since I arrived, I know what I look like again!) =)

Kommentarer

Postat av: Pege

Publicerad 2011-03-13 17:27:59

Verkar vara ett ansträngande liv på andra sätt än hos oss. Vad jobbar du med?

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela