stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

9/3 Wednesday

Publicerad 2011-03-13 17:23:38 i Allmänt,

Today I started at the clinic at 11.00 western time (saa tano kiswahili time). Again, I was meant to meet up with the manager but as on Monday, he didnt show up. Instead, I continued to do some testing but it wasnt very busy today. I also had a meeting eith Anna and Salim who were informing me abt the project, what they want to accomplish and what they expect from me. none of them speaks english.
Their idea is to set up a number of 6 street festivals in Tandale and the neighbourhoods. There would be quizes with prizes, information, traditional dancing and on site HIV testing etc. The plan was to have the first festival in January this year but they still havent been able to get sponsors. Sadly, as Salim told me, it is very difficult for black people to ask even local sponsors for money. So they want me to walk around among the officies of local companies and try to get their interest for funding.
To be honest. This is not really what I wanted or expected to do. I wish I could have used my nutritionist degree more and I somehow wish I would have picked an english speaking country such as Kenya. Language is really a barriar. Anyhow, I still learn a lot and I will really do my best during my time spent here. i really hope we couold set up the first festival in April, although I strongly doubt it saying the pace in which things tend to happen here is slower than slow. Time is def not highly valued.
'
LATER:
I wonder if this is a typical African life. if it is. I might have to buy cards, 100 of books, gameboys and batteries to stay busy. I have never been waiting so much in my entire past and future life together, as I have been during my first week in Tanzania. If not malaria or any other tropical disease will kill me, boreness certainly will.
My host mum Salome is extremely hypochodrical. As soon as she sees a mosquito, she thinks she has malaria and needs to go straight to the hospital.Hur hurt leg, which prevents her from working is hardly bruised and she is doing nothing but worrying and watching tanzanian soap operas all day. Everythime she needs something which are more than 5cm out of reach, she calls Tapida to get it for her.
For the last 5 hrs, I have been starring at the roof. The 'door' is locked from the outside. I have nowhere to go to be alone. Not even my room since Tapida will follow and watch every step i take.
Evenings after work is what I would imagine worse than a prison. At least every night Fatuma is not around.
'
Oh, seems like I have been complaining enough now. Maybe I just had a bad day.
'
(For the record, I am copying straight from my diary and following days are better, so dont worry, I am fine!!=))

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela