stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

LET THE STORY BEGIN

Publicerad 2011-03-01 19:03:10 i Allmänt,

The time has come! It's only one breakfast left until depature. Im in an aroused state. So excited and so nervous!
This has been my dream for so long now. Working with HIV in Africa. Hell yeah!
All my bags are packed. Main things seems to be malaria prophylaxis and mosquito nets plus another 10 000 pills which are good for the stomach. I def learned a lesson after getting sick in Vietnam with no preventive medicine what so ever...This time, I'll even brush my teeth in bottled water.
'
So, for those of you who don't know it. I'll be arriving to Tanzania and dar es Salaam on Thursday morning. Very early. Gizelle, my on place coordinator will meet me at the airport (hopefully and if everything works out the way it should be!). And then...I guess she will introduce me to Salome, my host mummy =) She lives in Sinza, abt 20 minutes distance from dar es in a 2 bedroom apartment. Apparently, she knows simple english only so I really hope I'll imrpove my Swahili while I'm there. Packed abt 20 new Swahili lessons for my own improvement.
'
Once settled, I'll be starting on the project, which is pretty much located in Tandale, a very poor area of dar es. I don't really know my duties yet, since Tanzanian people prefer communication face to face instead of sending emails. Fair enough I guess. What I do know is that it'll prob be a combination of home visits, working at the clinic, setting up street festivals with the aim to educate people abt HIV etc etc... So that's all on my to-do list for the next 6 weeks.
'
I wont bring my computer. And i wont have internet. However I do know that there is an internet café abt 20 min from my unit, so I have promised everyone to at least try to get connected 1-2 /week to keep you updated. Pictures will probably have to wait until later. But I'll do my best!
Well. I guess thats it for now...
And oh.....also, I hope you don't mind I'll be writing abt this trip mainly in English since I have got complaints from my lovely down under friends. I'll try to satisfy everyone (as long as future friends are not requesting swahili updates cause that will take too long time!
Also, keep gicing me comments. I want to hear everyone elses stories as well =)
'
Kodi shani kuanza!!! (=LET THE ADVENTURE BEGIN!)

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela