stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

SINZA DAY 1

Publicerad 2011-03-03 15:31:31 i Allmänt,

I have now arrived to Tanzania. Gizelle came to pick me up as she promised to do. She is very nice, but everything is going in s l o w m o t i o n =) As a contrast to the stockholm pace.
I have met my host Mum Salome. She struggles with the english and I struggle with the Swahili. But we have fun anyway. She is very sweet, and so is Capita (dont know hw to spell it but thats the way you say it), her maid as well. I would guess Salome is around 35 and Capita maybe around 14-15. But that is just a rough guess.
Arrived to Sinza very late yesterday, went straight to bed but I could hardly sleep at all. Its SO DAMN HOT! Although, I like that, dont get me wrong. I have been nervous as well. My room is really nice, but as expected, the area in which I am staying is very poor. No running water, typical asian toilet, no toilet paper, no shower, but a room with a "hink" of water to wash yourself in. Its a bit of a culture chock, but still amazing to see how people can live like that and are so happy anyway!
'
We have two adorable kids as neighbours. They are smiling at me and staring at my blond hair. Gotta play with them later. I have been to tired today. Plus, Gizelle was meant to pick me up at noon, but didnt come until 5 hrs later. So here I am now. Just bought a volontering permission for 120 US dollars. Always something I missed huh! And also got a phone number. I'll try it later but it should work with =255 (0) 714 30 10 51. You are welcome to try! =)
'
Will now go and buy some neccessary things, such as toilet paper and water. I guess I will be introduced to the project tomw instead.
'
But to summerize. Flight went well. Did a landing in Nairobi which I had no idea abt. Good food, some problems with the ears but Im alive! Hot asin hell. Culture shock. Extremely poor. But I think I will love it!

Kommentarer

Postat av: Amanda

Publicerad 2011-03-03 15:51:46

Härligt att höra att du är framme, jag ser fram emot dina inlägg! Polepole...Kram

Postat av: j

Publicerad 2011-03-03 16:06:04

imponerande! lycka till!

Postat av: Pege

Publicerad 2011-03-05 12:32:11

Lycka till och håll dig torr om fötterna! Snyt dig ordentligt och glöm inte att stänga dörrn efter dig. Tappa inte bort nyckelen!

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela