stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

HELP!!

Publicerad 2011-11-03 11:45:41 i Allmänt,

Sometimes it feels like there are too many choices in life. I mean. Just picking a pack of milk is insane! And I have three really big choices to make right now of which all are of greater importance than the milk bottle.
  1. FIND A HOUSE
    Firstly, I have just been looking into short terms accomodation cause I wanted to find a place with Soph whenever she returnes from Canada. However I start to doubt if it is a good idea to live with your best friend and even if it would be, it seems pretty hard to find a decent short term rental. AND. I would have to do the whole process of finding a house again and probably fill it with furnitures etc etc. My economy might not hold for that atm. So. When starting to look into long term accomodations, I have found two places I really like.
    1.1 PIPPI LONGSTOCKING HOUSE: Very colourfull tidy and clean. Located behind another house on a very quiet street with 3 parking spots (for whenever I get a car). 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Two guys living there now, one is 28 doing his masters (could prob get along very well) one is 31 and works (prob do play a bit too much tv-games). I wouldnt be best friends with these guys but they would make good enough housemates. Awesome location. Negative things: I would have to go on the lease (6months) which would rule out the possibility of me and Soph finding a place together. No furnitures in the bedroom.
    1.2 GREAT QUEENSLANDER: Just looked at it. Its a BEAUTIFUL house! Perfect location. Owned by a 38 year old aussie who is really into fitness (he lives there too). Then there is a 27yo german girl (really nice, but will move out in 3 months time) and a 24 year old australian girl. So. 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Slightly cheaper than the other house (including a cleaner who comes every second week). Wouldn't have to go on the lease which makes it easier to move out (one month notice). Non through road = no traffic. Has a cat named Wombat who I cuddled with a lot to see if I would be allergic, nothing yet! No furnitures in the bedroom.
    '
    '
  2. BUY A BIKE
    2.1 BIKE 1: Either this one: http://www.merida.com.au/2011-bikes/fitness/speeder-series/speeder-t1.htm
    2.2 BIKE 2: Or this one: http://www.merida.com.au/2011-bikes/fitness/speeder-series/speeder-s2.htm
    '
    '
  3. CHOOSE A PROJECT
    This one is killing me since it is such a big comittment. I am in a very lucky position where I as a PhD student actually can choose what I want to do. Not many people could do that...
    3.1 PERICONCEPTIONAL ETHANOL EXPOSURE: Def my area of interest! Basically feeding rats with alcohol prior to pregnancy (not during as my master research was). Then make them pregnant and then analyse the metabolic effects on their offspring in adult life. Noone has ever done this! So it could be very exciting. However its hard to expect things and compare with others ofcourse... Good things: Project will be on rats, Id be the one responsible for it saying that I can do whatever I want to and only affect myself. Bad things: I would be on my own. Which means ten times more work. And the project doesnt have funding. Bad timing. Karen will apply for funding this year but it will take a year to put throgh. She says she probably will have enough money for it anyway but she coudlnt hire a research assistant that could work with it with me.
    3.2 PERICONCEPTIONAL MATERNAL HYPOXIA: I struggle to relate to this project. I cant see this event happen in real life and therefore I loose interest. Feels like such a bigger commitment since I am not as interested in it. Good thing. The projet is already going and it has 3 years funding already. A lot of people are working on it which means a lot of support, probably more publications and quicker process. Bad thing: Its on mice (i prefer rats) and my experiments wouldn't be prioritized.
'
I know this is a lot of text but I hope at least someone could stand reading at least something on it cause I really need some good advice here!

Kommentarer

Postat av: Sis

Publicerad 2011-11-03 22:55:24

Huset har du ju redan valt alt 2 vad jag läser från din text, håll katten utanför sovrummet bara!



Cykeln, hmm ta en bara.. de ser väl bra ut båda två.



Projektet: att saker inte finns publicerade betyder nödvändigtvis inte att det inte är gjort, det kan kanske vara väldigt svårt att visa något bara! Jag förstår om alt 2 känns tyngre men varför inte börja med det? Du kan väl alltid byta om Karen skulle få pengar? Som ganska nybliven doktorand kan jag säga att det är rätt skönt att få lite hjälp i början....

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela