stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

HALF MARATHON COMPLETED - IN PAIN

Publicerad 2013-04-28 23:33:14 i Allmänt,

Noosa HalfMarathon completed: 1.46.15
Shame as I wanted to be under 1.45, but I really did have a crap day on the track so I can't really complain. I opened up way to fast, keeping a pace of about 4.30-4.45 for the first few ks. Ran the first 10 in 47.55min and the last 21 in like an hour lol. Not the way to do it! Run couch Chris would have been terrified about that positive splitting when all we focus on is negative splitting. 
Anyway, 14km in to it, I really just felt like lying down on the grass and cry. Despite a fairly early start (6.30am), it was soooo sunny and hot in the Australian winter at 7.20ish. Slightly dehydrated, the water station seemed ages apart. At 18km, my pretty week mental contribution started to fail. I just could not continue. Started to walk for a few meters, knee started to feel bad. At the same time I just wanted it to be over. An old man on the street asked if I knew how long the course was and I said, it's a half mara 21km. He asked where in the course I was and I answered 18. "Ohhh, just keep going darlin, just keep going!" Ok old man, I'll do it for you. The last 3 km seemed to go on forever. I could'nt help stopping every now and then and I made a promise to myself never to do this again lol. When it was only 1.5 left, I took back on a girl who was running my pace and she basically dragged me along for 1km before I could glance the finish line and passed her. 1.46.15. Went straight for the endura drinks and water melon. 
 
On the way back to Bris, I made a stop to visit my friend and first year Yoga teacher who moved away from the big smoke to Noosa hinterland. She rubbed some oil on my poor knee and gave me her 10wo golden retriver pup Shakti to play with:
And now, it's time to try to get into work. And then. Call a physio and get this ITBband sorted!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela