stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

KINGSCLIFF OLYMPIC

Publicerad 2013-12-04 08:43:10 i Allmänt,

People always seem to think that I am so lucky (maybe beacuse you only really tend to tell people about things that are going well). However the last little while, most things have been quite unfortunate. For example, I ordered 4 new items of race wear from 2xu and 3 were way too big, I smashed my thumb when changing pedals on my bike, I spent two weeks in the histology lab cutting liver sections that were impossible to stain, and I wasted 500AUD worth of insulin assay when the centrifuge decided to tip 1/4th of my samples out. To make that sound even worse, the assay was radioactive so had to inform the radioactive workers to come out and check the spill, plus I don't have any more samples to repeat the assay. So remember that next time you call me lucky! :)

Did Kingscliff olympic triathlon on the Sunday. Here, just racked and ready to go
Sadly, I didn't end up on any of the race pics (and Im saying sadly because the photographer for the race was amazing and all his shots incredible!). Anyway, this is the outcome:
SWIM (1500m) - 22.26min (11 out of 37 woot!) (with the current hence the good time)
BIKE (40km including T1 and T2) - 1.18.26 (9 out of 37)
RUN (10km) - 49.29 (20 out of 37)
TOTAL: 2.30.22
And I must say I am so pleased. Everything under 2.40 is a very respectable time and I did 2.30! This race is also a qualifyer for worlds which means all the best triathletes aiming to represent Australia in triathlon 2014 entered the race. Plus it was only my second race at this distance and extremely windy on the bike. I went out on 45km/hr on the bike and back, while putting the same effort in, at 25km/hr. But. Same for everyone and good training!

Afterwards I slept for 12hrs straight :)
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela