stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

BYRON BAY OLYMPIC DISTANCE

Publicerad 2013-05-12 23:51:01 i Allmänt,

(1165 seems to be a bit of a theme here...)
End of Season. At least in Queensland. Next race on the list is Kalmar Mini tri in August, which I am really looking forward to. However it's good its a while a way so my knees have time to recover. Was taped up properly and my left itb did not cause me any harm in the race. However I must have been compensating because 7.5km into the run I could feel my right itb starting to play up instead. Always something.
(Tired em, last lap on the run course)
The start for F25-29 was at 12.17pm. It is very unsual that a race starts after sort of 8am in the morning so we had a nice little sleep in before. The water conditions were Rough! First of all, there were too many people in the water at the same time and the swell was big and the waves were not easy to try and breath through. A lot of people actually got sea sick as the waves were pushing us around so much, especially coming in. And. Believe it or not, the swim was 400m longer than it was meant to be. I wonder how this happens in every single race, why is it that the swim can never be shorter rather than longer?? Not fair!
The bike leg was amazing! Although the roads were horribly bad at some points, it was a beautiful ride and I went so fast with Sunshine!
Got a bit of my unusual asthma during the run and struggled a bit. The run consisted of 4 laps and it had been pissing down the whole morning (as it always does on race days) and parts of it looked more like the tough mudder race than a tri. But it was fun!
 
Here is my time summary for my first ever olympic distance:
Swim (1850m) (meant to be 1500) - 34.12min (includes first transition) Cat pos. 37 of 60
Bike (40km) - 1.08.56 (includes second transition), average speed 34.82km/hr, Cat pos. 8 of 60
Run (10km) - 50.09, average pace 5.01min/km Cat pos. 28 of 60
TOTAL TIME: 2.33.18
Cat position (F25-29) - 20 of 60 WOOT!
Gender position (all females): 80 of 235
Overall position (out of all finishers): 481 of 894

I am very pleased with my first ever triathlon season. In all my races (including runs and half marathons), I have always been top 20 in my age group, (and even won my first ever 7.5km trail run out of all females). Can't wait for my knees to recover and for the next season to start!

Kommentarer

Postat av: P

Publicerad 2013-05-13 06:23:10

Congratulations, you little girl in a big town!

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela