stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

3 April Sunday

Publicerad 2011-04-09 09:41:15 i Allmänt,

I dont know where to start! I think I just witnessed African exorcism. Since I first arrived her, I have promised Salome to go to church with her on a Sunday. She told me the session would last for 3 hrs. It went on for 5 and it was really an experience! Goooooodness!
First, it reminded me more of a mix between an aerobic class and a gospel/rock concert, but eventually, it turned into a massive praying ground with a crazy pastor in the front. I feared he would die in a heart attack any time and unfortunately we were sitting next to the speakers. So I also feard my drums would break. I was bitterly regreting that I flushed my blocked ears with mineral water the night before. A blocked ear would have been very pleasent.
#
Anyway, since it all went on in Swahili hour after hour, I had almost fallen asleep when things suddenly started to happen! After frenetically been praying, hands lifted up in the air, bodies shaking, tears falling etc....people started to fall to the ground! Surrounding hands carried them to the front of the church and dropped them on the ground. More screaming. More praying. More tears. I thought they would be sacrificed to God but instead, some sort of excorsism started I was terryfied! It was like stepping into a scary movie.
~
However 5 hrs later, no blood had been spilled, only a lot of money had been ofered to God. Was thinking a lot abt this. All these extremely poor people, of which most are living on 2000 tsh per day...less than 10 sek...have to offer at least 5000 tsh to God every Sunday??? In some sort of dance, which even I had to participate in, everybody moved around in circles around in the church to eventually reach the front were money had to be offered. First time, you could chooce how much you wanted to give. Second time, it had to be 5000 tsh. It was probably abt 500 people in the church... I wonder what God will do with all these money??? Huh!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela