stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

ARUSHA so far

Publicerad 2011-04-15 17:42:10 i Allmänt,

I am sooooo sorry I havent been writing for such a long time. You must all think Im dead. Which could have been the case, saying the bustrip from Sadaani to Arusha was a killer. It should have taken abt 10 hrs in total, but it actually ended up taking 16. The bus was falling apart piece by piece and it was like driving a RR in the bush. Constantly head banging for the first 5 hrs before we got on some asfalt roads.
The drivers are usually drunk and most of them most likely paid to get their licens. Just before we crossed a very narrow bridge, the Tanzanian guy infront of me did the hail marry (cross sign). You are better off Not knowing whats in front of you.
Surprisinglily, we made it to Arusha alive. Got into the first cab possibly just to get away from the bus stop. At the time, it seemed like a very good idea. We figured pretty soon that it wasnt. The cab driver stoped and told us he had to run away to get petrol cause it suddlenly was finished. He locked us into the car and ran away. We sat there for a few min and then decided to break out. I ran in to the closest hotel and Scott was hiding behind a tree to get our bags back. The cab driver return at the same time as two guys on motorbike who started to search the car. Scott bribed the guy to get our bags back and eventually we got away with all our belongings, just a few 1000 poorer. Gaaahhhh! Almost gor robbed. Grr. After that, we got the number to some reliable cab drivers so have been good since.
'
moved into the orphanage on Tuesday morning. What I didnt know at the time was how extremely religious this place was. PINGSTKYRKAN (church) number one. I feel so very uncomfortable here. Its like Im the fifth wheel and I am actually getting treated worse just because Im not religious. And I thought everyone had the same value in Jesus eyes? Hmm...
'
Anyway, the orphaage has 11 kiddos. Mostly girls for the simple reason that most projects are focusing on boys, although girls are in a higher risk group. The kids are between 7-14. We dont really work (we includes me and Victoria, another swedish volonter) a lot with the kids, but are doing more administrative things and get experience other ways. Its good though cause it gives me a picture of how it is to work like this.
Yday for example, we went to a Masai village to sort some land stuff out so they can grow food for the orphanage. We also went to a conference to set a budget for the village school and discuss how we could approve it. We got treated like the royal family. The kiddos had even prepared a dance for us. So adorable!

Pic from the maasai village in the mountains.
As you can see, Arusha has a much nicer landscape than dar. Its green and mountains everywhere. On the way out here, we saw Kilimanjaro. Looked so beautiful. I really have to climb it one day.

(Me and Vic sorting all clothes that have been given to the orphanage in different sizes and types. It took the whole day and we are still not done!)

Morgan and MarieLouise have a lot of stories to tell and its very interesting just to listen to them. The moved to Tanzania already 1973 and have been through a lot. These parts, I really enjoy. But the morning prays and evening prays etc. I just don’t understand. The pretty much leave everything in the hands of God as well. Not much difference between the Africos and them. One of the Masais got really confused when me and Vic put sun block on. He had probably never seen such thing and we explained to him on broken Swahili its used to protect the skin from the sun. He laughed and said ‘hahahaha mzungos’. Morgan said he had explained to them before that ‘God made your skin black so you couldsurvive in this environment’. What abt evolution? However, I have learned NOT to mention anything abt that. I would prob get kicked out haha.

Anyway. This is a nice place. I have only 4 days left. Then its time for lions and I am SO very excited. I feel like working with animals instead of people will be a very pleasant experience and I cant wait!


Kommentarer

Postat av: pege

Publicerad 2011-04-16 21:06:07

You should tell the Pingstkyrkan about justification by faith, och hälsa från mig. Efter det kommer dom att behandla dig annorlunda.

Postat av: pege

Publicerad 2011-04-16 21:06:52

You should tell the Pingstkyrkan about justification by faith, och hälsa från mig. Efter det kommer dom att behandla dig annorlunda.

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela