stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

MOEL SIABOD

Publicerad 2011-08-23 21:54:09 i Allmänt,

Moel Siabod. Our destination for the day. We were recommended this mountain since we didn't want our challenge to be as great as yestarday. Hmm...
We follewed the route pretty well, until (guess what!?), we met what we in Sweden would call a Welsh old steel lady (Stålkärring) who suggested a few different paths to take to the top of the mountain. We sort of listened half and decided to take a "short cut" since the slope up to the mountain didn't seem very steep. We were sooo wrong...
At one point, we had to do proper mountain climbing on a 90 degree angle slope without any of the gear required what so ever. We were both pretty positive about this and saw no limits. I struggled to get up, with shaking legs and dad threw his napsack up to me. Just under us was a big drop though, which made it much worse for dad to try to get up, since he didn't have any security underneath him. He couldn't get up. I couldn't get down. We were thinking of splitting up and take different routes to the top but I figured my way was far to dangerous plus we would most likely have lost eachother. So I had no other choice than to get back down again...
We were working a bit against time and the rain we had been promised and decided to eat our lunch before reaching the top:
After lunch. We decided that we were too close to the top to give up. So we took a side track to the first path we tried. It was pretty steep as well and when finally reaching the top, we realized it wasn't the top. The top was about to canyons away from us.
Me at the first canyon (promised dad not to dangle with my legs over the edge)
(Picture taken later on the mountain side we hiked/scrambled/climbed up. Pretty much the slope on the right hand side of that mountain).
Anyway. Eventually, we made it to the top and got a stunning view over Snowdon mountain and the rest of the national park. Just amazing. A picture cannot describe it at all...but will give you one anyway...
We have decided to rest our legs tomorrow and not to do any destructive mountain climbs. At the most, we'll do a non hilly strawl around the area of Bets-y-coed or Beddgilert. So don't worry about us. Some people would call us stupid. Dad calls os explorers, haha!
We'll be just fine=)

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela