stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

ESA-SRB CONFERENCE GOLD COAST

Publicerad 2012-08-31 10:39:45 i Allmänt,


Just a selection of pictures from the latest conference on the Gold Coast in which I had a poster presentation. Me, James and Reetu from my lab were all thinking we would get some time on the beach but believe it or not, there were so many good talks so we actually didn't want to. It was basically a diabetes and obesity conference so a lot of talks about nutrition, exercise, circadian rythms etc that probably were more relevant from an interest point of view than for my project. Bur as a nutritionist, I really liked it=)
'
Between all talks (that lasted for 4 whole days) they served us a bunch of chocolate and cookies, which is a bit ironic saying that every talk was about diabetes and how bad junk food it. Hmmm...
'
Also dressed up for scientific dinners on a few of the pictures.
'
And you have no idea how hard Reetu and I worked to get those two pinguins! It was so worth it thugh (until I got home and Cooper got overexcited about "his" new toy).
'
Last but not least. I won the conference-competition in Carb-Ninja, a pretty decent achievement if you ask me. For those of you who are not familiar with Ninja games. Fruit ninja has been a pretty big thing on iphones and you basically cut fruits. In carb ninja, you had to cut all foods containing more carbs than 10gs and it was a live game so you cut them with your own hands. I kno. I might be a little bit too excited about this but it was awesome fun!
'
As for being back in Bris. Work is not giving me enough space to breath. I really don't like it and I cannot wait for September to be over, although it hasn't even started yet. Not that I trust myself when I want to believe it will be better in October. But it can't possibly getting any worse. So that is good at least!
 
 
 

Kommentarer

Postat av: P

Publicerad 2012-08-31 13:26:31

Good work! Obstacles excist just to overcome. Even on a weekday.

Postat av: Fie

Publicerad 2012-08-31 21:05:51

I am afraid that this is the life of a PhD, I really long for next month, then I will have time! But the closer you get the more busy is the calendar and you start to long for the next month....

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela