stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

PORT STEPHENS AND ST PATRICK

Publicerad 2012-03-18 12:50:03 i Allmänt,

My first conference. I am so relieved it is over! According to my lab members I did pretty well but I don't think I've ever been so nervous presenting in front of a group before. I suppose because this was a pretty damn important group. I started off pretty well, and then, a few slides in to my presentation it sort of hit me for whom I was presenting. A lot of BIG names in the area of fetal programming and people I am referring to in my proposal. Would have been interesting to have a blood pressure measurement on then huh.
Anyway. Milestone.
Scientists are hard to mingle with. 
- So, what is your research about?
- Ohh, its about this enzyme called sdgf4y87t534jkgdf7 which has an important role in the pathway of ????????.
- Oh, how interesting (NOT), why dont you tell me a bit more about that (although I'd rather go talk to a wall instead). *smiling*
Weird. interesting. Weekend.
The hotel we stayed at was pretty amazing anyway. Nice view if not:

Afterwards, I went straight to a St Patricks party hosted by the Irish fairy Molly in West end:

And Sunday rained away as my rare free weekend days tend to do nowadays. Shopping at DFO it was. Three pair of sunglasses that hopefully will sustain me until June when I'm going home, an awesome dress for 10 dollars, new sports top and a pair of very serious black conference shoes for my next important PhD event. Good day! Think I deserve a few hours of sleep now before the next week kicks off!

Kommentarer

Postat av: Pege

Publicerad 2012-03-18 13:50:48

Se där! Det tar sig! Grattis för väl genomförd prestation!

Postat av: Sis

Publicerad 2012-03-19 17:22:15

Hahaha, jag vet vad du menar med att det är svårt att prata med forskare!! Det värsta är att JAG börjar bli precis sådan kände jag i lördags kväll när jag efter ett glas vin satt och pratade ingående om olika cellulosor och bröstcancer-proteiner med en doktorand från Norge.....

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela