stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

KINGSCLIFF TRIATHLON

Publicerad 2013-03-11 22:40:11 i Allmänt,

I haven't been sick since I last visited Sweden in June 2012. Pretty crap timing to catch a stubborn fever 2 days before my second triathlon. However, luckily....it was only a fever.... I killed it as much as I could with various type of fever reducing pills and panodoils. 38.5 the night before the race...Down to 37.5 on race day. The problem with registering for a tri is that you don't get your money back if you don't participate. (I know, that is a terrible reason for racing while being sick) but I did. And despite the fever I felt ok on the day.

We had stayed the night in Tweed (NSW) so the drive to Kingscliff would only be 20 min, rather than 2hrs. Still had to get up at 4am and prepare transition. I only did the sprint distance, which was 940m swim (was meant to be 750, they seem to always get that wrong!), 20km bike and 5km run. Considering the circumstances, I suppose I did alright:

Time total: 1.30.18
Placement in my age group: 7 out of 17 (number 5 and 6 got in 20-30s before me, gaaahhhh!)
Placement female sprint: 23 out of 185
Swim 940m: 21.30 (against the current) Which was annoying saying everyone had told me the swim in kingscliff is always with the current. Well...it was for everyone who started 30min after us. Thanks tides!!
Bike: 43.32 (including T1 and T2 I suppose)
Run: 25.13
Gotta be happy with that!

If I happened to be caught on any pic, I will upload some when they are released!
 
Less happy am I about the fact that my very beloved friend Annabel has got a position in Sydney, which all happened very quickly, and has now moved there for work. It's so rarely you find someone so similar to yourself. Will miss you hun! Trips will be booked asap to Sydney, horseback riding adventures and triathlons interstate! xx
Time for me to make it into work for the first day in 4 days after my long fever weekend. Not looking forward to that!
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela