stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

PAPER ACCEPTED!

Publicerad 2013-10-18 00:11:37 i Allmänt,

GAAAAHHHHH! I've had a week when things have really been going my way. Please don't let it stop!

Sunday: New PB (personal best) for tri sprint distance by 5 min

Monday: Past MidCandidature with excellence

Wednesday: MY FIRST PAPER AS A FIRST AUTHOS GOT ACCEPTED FOR PUBLICATION!!!!!!!
For all non-science people out there, this may not seem very exciting, but believe me. IT IS! Getting a paper published is a never-ending process. You work your ass off for two years to create data of sufficiant quality. Most of the things along the way goes wrong and you have to re do it. You spend half a year trying to get your supervisor to read what you have done. She finally says, 'lets rewrite it this way'. You rewrite it. You submit it to a journal with too high impact factor and the reviewers takes 2 months to say "no, we do not want to publish this". You rewrite the whole manuscript to make it fit another journal and submit it again. The reviewers takes 3 months to say "yes, we will publish this, IF you can do the following experiments XXX which means another 5 years of work worth 1millionAUD". 'Third time lucky', Karen told me, and I rewrote the manuscript again and send it in for the third time. This time, after only a short month, the editor wrote back and said "YES WE WANT TO PUBLISH THIS PRETTY MUCH IN THE FORM IT IS". Just to give you an idea how happy I am...
 
But it doesn't end there...
 
Thursday: Something just made sense in the pool at squad training last night "poletten föll ner" as we say in Swedish and I all of a sudden started to swim 100m in 1.45, 1.44, 1.43(!!!!!), instead of my normal 1.50-1.57min. Not fast for some but fast for me.
 
In my moment of feeling invincible, I signed up for a sprint distance on Bribie on sunday, a fundarasing 5km fun run on thursday in two weeks and now i'm sitting here contemplating with myself wheter I should sign up for the half ironman in the middle of superhot Australia in Feb (Hell of the west).
 
 
However. The bad part for the week was the arrival of the electricity bill. Apparently our hot water system has been leaking straight out in the backyard for the last few months, which we had no idea about until the electricity bill landed as a bomb in our letter box. 1000AUD for 3 months instead of the normal 350. My bank account is crying.
Anyway, all the positives are weighing more!
 

Kommentarer

Postat av: Mqe

Publicerad 2013-10-18 06:33:58

Stort GRATTIS till allt detta!
Bankkontot, det går att fylla på. Går det lika bra med tanden tro?

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela