stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

Macedonia

Publicerad 2014-09-23 18:55:47 i Allmänt,


So Sweden started to get a bit boring so took a little trip to Macedonia on Sunday. Macedonia is an extremely interesting and forgotten country. It is a weird mix between corrupt developing country and a developed country. 
The first night we stayed in Skopje, the capital in which 400000 out of the country's 2 million people live. The most interesting thing about this city is that there are statues everywhere! App the ruling party decided to write a new history of Macedonia as the country is in conflict wth Greece and Albania. They think it will attract visitors. However 35% of all people here have no job and earn very little money so spending millions of dollars on statues has basically created conflicts within the country too. It's a very interesting country both from a political and developing point of view. And the nature is beautiful! I've taken most pictures with myslr so they won't come till later but here is some pictures from our drive to the mountains today: 


Macedonia is a super small country as the neighboring countries has subsequently taken over its land. Still it has more mountain peaks than any other country in the world. We are aitting on one of them right now waiting for dinner :) more to come! 
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela