stlucia.blogg.se

I started this blog when I first went on an exchange to Brisbane, Australia. During that experience, I discovered my love for culture, travelling and adventures. This blog has followed me since and been my forum for pictures and stories from Tanzania, South Africa, Ireland, Fiji, Malaysia, Singapore, Europe etc.

SAFE AND SOUND IN SCOTTLAND

Publicerad 2014-09-01 22:45:47 i Allmänt,

Wow, what a journey! Not particularily speaking about the flight itself, but the trip from the airport to the hotel. Generalising from the 1 bustrip I have made in Scotland so far, the drivers are crazy! It took more than an hour to reach the city centre as the bus stopped every 10m. Can't complain on the price though, 1.5pounds. 
After walking around for abt 20 min I finally reached my hotel. The only problem was.....the hotel had no reception. Apparantly, (in small italic) the confirmation letter had a little line at the bottom saying the keys were to be collected on another street (1bt 15 min walk away). Well, That makes sense! (NOT !!?). I was lucky enough the cleaner had just been in the building and offered me a ride to the reception, so I only had to walk one way. Sigh.
Good thing however, is that the staff were really nice and my room is huge! Bedroom, kitchen, walk in closet, living room, bathroom, washing room, you name it! And Salsbury (supermarket) was just around the corner and I managed to get all the luxurious type of food such as figs, goat cheese and smoked fish for like nothing. Something Sweden should take after?
After finally getting some food, I started out with some city sightsing. First out was Greyfriars Kirkyard with burials since the late 16th century. Some people say this is the most haunted place on earth.
However there are nice stories about this place as well. Bobby, probably the most loyal dog who ever lived is buried here. Bobby supposedly watched over his Master's (John Gray's) grave for 14 years, until he died himself in 1872. It is said he loyaly stayed on the grave, every night, regardless of weather and temperature. Shorty after he died, he got a monument raised for him:
Almost next to Greyfriars kirk is the birthplace of Harry Potter, the elephant house. And as the Harry Potter fan that I am, I had to take a picture:
This will have to be enough for now as I am really tired and am looking forward to sleep in a REAL bed for the first time since I left Australia! :D It better be nice and soft. 
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Emmie

Flying high but staying grounded. Travelling, adventures, exploring and adrenaline is my life. I write about places most people want to visit but never do; and about my triathlon lifestyle. I live after: The distance between your dreams and reality is called action.

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela